PDA

View Full Version : Better defensively: Machado vs. Lawrie

George H Ruth
09-03-2013, 01:09 PM
If we take defensive metrics in to account - who's had the better season defensively between Machado and Lawrie?

I'm still learning about metrics, so if you can back it up some good metrics that would be useful for me. Thanks.

leewileyfan
09-04-2013, 10:49 AM
FWIW: Here's how my metric evaluates Machado and Lawrie for 2013 thus far:

Player...........Innings.............Rating....... .....Defense Runs>AVG 3B........Adj. Runs, Playing Time

Machado........1,214............... .987 ............... + 7.6 .......................... 7.56
Lawrie........... 686............... .960 ............... + 1.9 .......................... 0.66

leewileyfan
09-04-2013, 11:02 AM
If we further adjust for team pitching staff K's vs. LG, both players are adjusted down a bit:

Machado's staff = -12 K's below LG staff average goes from +7.56 to +7.4.

Lawrie's staff = -92 " " " " " goes from +0.66 to - 0.5.

Both are net for playing time to date.

Tyrus4189Cobb
09-04-2013, 11:11 AM
Your best bet is to use fangraphs if you're looking to use metrics. Based on that, I'd give it to Machado who has 30 Defensive Runs Saved (DRS) and 26.8 Ultimate Zone Rating (UZR) compared to Lawrie's 6 DRS and 1.3 UZR. By these measures, Machado is successfully fielding many more balls above the average third baseman, converting these to outs and thus preventing runs. Lawrie on the other hand is simply above average.

How familiar are you with DRS and UZR? Some differences exist between the two metrics. When someone is so vastly ahead of another, it is clear that Machado is the superior defender.

http://www.fangraphs.com/library/defense/drs/

http://www.insidethebook.com/ee/index.php/site/comments/john_dewan_and_research_assistant_speak/#3

leewileyfan
09-04-2013, 03:52 PM