I friend sent me this and I'm going to cheat and ask you guys. Here's the problem:
Situation: The starting pitcher has pitched a gem and takes the mound in the bottom of the 9th inning leading 1-0. He's going for the complete game shutout. But he can only manage to get one out before getting pulled. Runners are on the corners. (Glenn would've yanked the guy much sooner)
Play: The first batter to face the new pitcher hits a grounder to the second baseman. They go for the double play. He flips it to the shortstop for one out but the shortstop's throw to 1st is in the dirt and the first baseman is unable to come up with it on the scoop. As a result, the batter is safe at 1st and the runner from 3rd scores.
Answer TRUE of FALSE.
1) The shortstop is charged with an error.
2) The first baseman is charged with an error.
3) The new pitcher is charged with a "blown save".
4) The batter is credited with a hit.
5) The batter is credited with an RBI.
6) The run is charged to the starting pitcher.
7) It's possible for the new pitcher to earn a "win".
In particular, I'm having difficulty with #5. I know a batter does not get credit for an RBI on a GIDP. But what if it should have been a GIDP? Also, I do not believe you can charge anybody with an error on this play.
Official Scoring rule 10.04(b)(2) says:
The official scorer shall not credit a run batted in when a fielder is charged with an error because the fielder muffs a throw at first base that would have completed a force double play.
The rule above specifically mentions the requirement for an "error"; but I don't believe this play has any errors - does it?