Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Teaching Kids to Pitch From the Stretch

Teaching Kids to Pitch From the Stretch

Do you think kids should be taught to pitch from the stretch instead of the windup?

I'm a youth baseball coach for 7 to 9 year olds and have introduced this technique for the first time this year. The results have been great!

The reason I took this approach is the result of seeing the lack of control of both the windup and the pitch using the conventional windup.

Teaching the kids to pitch from the stretch seems to work because of the following reasons:
    • The kids are able to master the motion pretty quickly

• There are less moving parts to worry about

• It's easier for the kids to keep their balance

• It's easy to break down the motion when things go wrong

• They get a better push off the mound when compared to the windup

I don't understand why we don't see more of this! It seems natural and common sense to teach the kids one technique- and we all know when the kids eventually play at the high school level they'll have a tremendous advantage with men on base.

I wonder if any of you coaches out there have the same approach or if you have any tips or comments. That would be great!
    Last edited by b4uplayball; 06-13-2008 at 12:24 AM. Reason: t ypo

Quote Originally Posted by b4uplayball View Post
    Do you think kids should be taught to pitch from the stretch instead of the windup?

I'm a youth baseball coach for 7 to 9 year olds and have introduced this technique for the first time this year. The results have been great!

The reason I took this approach is the result of seeing the lack of control of both the windup and the pitch using the conventional windup.

Teaching the kids to pitch from the stretch seems to work because of the following reasons:
    • The kids are able to master the motion pretty quickly

• There are less moving parts to worry about

• It's easier for the kids to keep their balance