X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • SteveJRogers
    • Jun 2008

Question about the notoriety of Baseball Almanac and Baseball Fever

Had this in Between Innings, doesn't look like anyone wants to answer, or even have that thread become a repository, ah well, anyway, the question I had stems from an argument I was having in the stadium thread. Now I know in recent months Baseball-Fever's stadium threads, specifically Shea, Citi and variations of Yankee Stadium have been getting linked to in other sites and such, but since part of my argument was based on website recognition, (the other poster shouldn't keep his movement on one outlet which I presumed was a small one) and I'm really just a newbie here on this forum, so just how big is Sean's place within the Baseball Internet Community?

In other words, do VIP within the media (all forms, print and electronic), teams and the headquarters of MLB lurk the forums? Has anyone actually tried to make contact on here, i.e. do we have a forum member named Gehrig38 (Curt Schilling) like they do on the Sons of Sam Horn message board or something like that around here?

Does Baseball Almanac get as much love from media outlets as Baseball-Reference.com does? I mean hosts on the local ESPN affiliate here in NY will often say that they are pulling up stats on B-R.com or they'd ask someone working behind the glass to look something up on B-R.com, so is BA.com just as big of a reference site in terms of recognition?

In any event, what are some of the more popular sites out there for baseball talk if not B-F.com? Or besides if this site truly is the most popular out there?

See this is where this thread becoming a repository comes in!