Thread: Hook of hamate fracture

Hook of hamate fracture

Have any of you knowledgable guys here ever had personal experience with an excision of the hook of hamate? My 14 year old is having the procedure this week. Specifically, what should we expect during the recovery? How long did was your recovery? Any specific rehab hints? Or any complications or set backs? Just trying to gather information. Thanks

I don't have any experience with this, but I remember Ken Griffey Jr had this done in the mid-90's. It's a fairly common injury for hitters because of the way the knob of the bat drives into the palm on the follow-through.
    http://www.nytimes.com/1996/06/20/sp...l?pagewanted=1

I have no personal experience with the injury or surgery, but as "dave" mentioned above, I understand it is a somewhat injury in golfers and baseball hitters . . .

Thanks for the replies. The surgery was done today. I will update our progress with the recovery in case it is helpful to someone else later.

Quote Originally Posted by Saints1 View Post
    Thanks for the replies. The surgery was done today. I will update our progress with the recovery in case it is helpful to someone else later.
    Hope the recovery is going well!

When I had my hook of the hamate removed I was back swinging in approx. 2 months. I had the procedure done in the fall (Oct. 28th) and really began swinging fully during that winter break. I religiously performed my rehab/strengthening exercises. I didn't miss any games, however, I had to tape my wrist pretty heavily and it was still sore for a good part of the season. Did your doctor give your son a routine/outline of what to do?