The 1st run hinges on whether or not if on the R2 strikeout the ball was a passed ball or wild pitch.
Originally Posted by dw8man
The 2nd run isnít earned as of the end of the presented situation because it scored on a passed ball, but thereís no way of knowing from the above about its final scoring. You canít reconstruct without knowing what happened in the ENTIRE inning.
If in fact B2 struck out and the ball was a wild pitch, which is most often the case, the run would be earned and charged to P1 because he was responsible for putting him on. In general Iíd say that likely 90% of all 3rd strikes that werenít caught was because the ball hit the dirt anywhere prior to the catcher. I like the OBR rule because if that happens, thereís no doubt. Itís a WP. In HS ball however, they arenít bright enough to copy the OBR rule, so they make it easier to score a PB because they call in the scorerís judgment as to whether or not the ball should have been caught, unless the pitch touches the ground in front of home plate. Personally, I use the OBR rule.
The 2nd run may or may not be earned depending on what happened after the run scored. When you reconstruct, OBR says: the official scorer shall reconstruct the inning without the errors (which exclude catcherís interference) and passed balls, giving the benefit of the doubt always to the pitcher in determining which bases would have been reached by runners had there been errorless play.
So, assuming it really was a PB, when the inning is reconstructed, you simply assume the runner is on 3rd with 2 outs for that next batter. If he makes the 3rd out, the run would be unearned. But, if he gets a hit, other than a swinging but in front of the plate, you have to assume the run would have scored on the hit and the run is earned.
The pitcher whoís afraid to throw strikes, will soon be standing in the shower with the hitter who's afraid to swing.