No announcement yet.

Josh Hamilton is the AL MVP!

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Josh Hamilton is the AL MVP!

    ARLINGTON -- Josh Hamilton became the fifth Rangers player to win the American League Most Valuable Player Award on Tuesday, outpolling Tigers first baseman Miguel Cabrera and Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano in voting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

    Hamilton received 22 of a possible 28 first-place votes to finish with 358 points. Cabrera received five first-place votes and had 262. Cano had 229. Toronto's Jose Bautista, who slugged 54 home runs, received the other first-place vote but finished fourth.

    Hamilton is the first Rangers player to win the award since Alex Rodriguez in 2003. Outfielder Jeff Burroughs was the first Texas player to take the honor in 1974. Outfielder Juan Gonzalez won in 1996 and '98, and catcher Ivan Rodriguez won in 1999.

    Hamilton led the AL in batting with a .359 batting average while finishing with 95 runs scored, 40 doubles, three triples, 32 home runs and 100 RBIs. He also led the league with a .633 slugging percentage and was second with a .411 on-base percentage.

    Despite missing almost all of September with two small fractures in his left rib cage, the center fielder led the Rangers to their first AL West title since 1999.

    "Josh is one of the, if not the, most gifted guys I have ever played with," Rangers third baseman Michael Young said. "He can do things on the field that not many guys can do. The scary thing is that he can get better. It's only his fourth year in the league and he can still find a way to improve. I'm certain he will find a way."

    Cabrera hit .328 with 111 runs scored, 38 home runs and a league-leading 126 RBIs for the Tigers. He led the league with a .420 on-base percentage while finishing second with a .622 slugging percentage.

    Cano batted .319 for the Yankees, with 103 runs scored, 29 home runs and 109 RBIs. He had a .381 on-base percentage, a .534 slugging percentage and won an AL Gold Glove Award for his defense.

    Hamilton already was named The Sporting News' Major League Player of the Year and won the Players Choice Award for AL Outstanding Player. He also won an AL Silver Slugger Award, the Sid Mercer-Dick Young Player of the Year Award from the New York chapter of the BBWAA and the Ted Williams Award as baseball's top hitter by Boston's BBWAA.

    In addition, Hamilton has been nominated for Sports Illustrated's Sportsman of the Year. Voting for the AL MVP Award was completed before the playoffs began, but Hamilton also took home the MVP Award for the AL Championship Series after the Rangers defeated the Yankees in six games.
    Texas Rangers: Estabalished 1972 (Arlington, Texas)

    Games played at The Ballpark In Arlington (est. 1994)

    World Series Titles: 0 (Damn you David Freese, DAMN YOU!)

    American League Pennants: 2 (2010, 2011)

    American League West Division Titles: 7 (1996, 1998, 1999, 2010, 2011, 2015, 2016)

    American League Wild Card Berths: 1 (2012) (grumble)

    It will always be The Ballpark In Arlington to me

  • #2
    Congrats Ranger, it looks like you got your wish!
    The Evil Empire shall strike back again!


    • #3
      Well deserved in my book.


      Ad Widget