11 year old Not hitting.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 11 year old Not hitting.

Hello everyone. My son had been playing baseball since he’s 4. He’s always had trouble making contact and driving the ball. He strikes out a lot and when he does make contact it’s usually weak contact. He goes to a hitting instructor but this is his third one. I shared a few videos. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Comment

Comment

Comment

Comment

Let me first start off by saying that I'm not a hitting expert or instructor. There are several on here and I'm sure they will chime in throughout the day. I'm just a regular 9 to 5 dad with a kid who loves baseball.

I see a few things from your videos.

1. He is shifting too much weight back on his rear leg. Not sure if that is what he is being taught, but it looks has though his weight is getting out over his back leg. Look at his upper body and it looks to me like it's back past his back foot and then has to reach with his front leg. You should stride with your back leg. He needs to load on the inside part of the back leg. There shouldn't be a big weight shift back IMO.

2. Bat Drag.

3. Weak at the point of contact. He gets to contact and keeps slicing across the ball rather than barrel through the baseball.
            Last edited by coachrjb; 07-11-2019, 06:31 AM.
            Instagram: gavin_thereal34

Comment

I see in the last video he is REALLY trying hard to make contact with bat and ball. Just like pitching the worst thing you can do for throwing strikes is to try REALLY hard to throw a strike. Once he makes contact it appear to me his mentality is that his job is done nothing futher to do.