Hitting Vision

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hitting Vision

I was talking to a HS baseball coach yesterday and the topic of the slider came up along with a discussion about the St. Louis Cardinals and their strikeout rate against sliders in the dirt. His comment was that the hitter has to focus on the spin and seeing the dots on the slider and they can hit it or let it go. My comment back was that if they are focused on seeing those dots, they are already out. As a baseball coach, and when we were playing teams that had pitchers who had good or outstanding sliders, I threw a lot of them in BP. We did talk about seeing the dots. However, that wasn't a "focus on the ball and the dot" approach. Before I discuss this more, I want your take on what I have presented.
    Granny said Sonny stick to your guns if you believe in something no matter what. Because it's better to be hated for who you are than to be loved for who you're not.

I am an ex expert. I've done this long enough to know that those who think that they know it all, know nothing.

Originally posted by Cannonball View Post
    . My comment back was that if they are focused on seeing those dots, they are already out. .
    Two issues here:
    First, how many hitters can see the "dot" on breaking balls? For example, Musial and Gwynn could not.

Second, if they can see it, should they be looking for it? Cannonball says they should not, and I agree 100%.

Sporting News: Tell us what you saw when the pitcher let go of the ball.

Musial: I couldn't see the spin, if that's what you're asking. A lot of guys said they could, but the ball comes up there so fast, I couldn't see the spin. Could you?

Gwynn: Nope.

SN: Wade Boggs, among others, said he could see a dot, a red dot, and that's how he knew a curveball was coming. Did you ever see that?

Musial: No.

Gwynn: Me neither

http://www.sportingnews.com/mlb/stor...and-tony-gwynn