Did I make a mistaking offering to coach 12u? Tips and advise needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Did I make a mistaking offering to coach 12u? Tips and advise needed

I'm hoping I have made the right choice here. Our league was in need of coaches and it was the day before tryouts were scheduled. Reluctantly I offered to help if they couldn't find anyone else. They have emailed this monring and I'm getting a team. This will be my first time as a head coach, I did assist a couple years ago. However, I'm really second guessing myself now.

I have spent alot of time working with my son and other kids on his teams. This is going to be my sons last year of little league so I really hope I don't mess up his last season. He will be playing travel ball as well, I definitely would not want to be his only coach. I have decent knowledge working with kids and playing the game but I have never been totally in charge.

I guess first step is to recruit some good help. I am kind of nervous about getting pushed around in the draft. I do not know their setup but I do not plan on recruiting a weak team. My son was on the all star team so I have some knowledge of the better kids in the league.

I probably wouldn't be so nervous if they were younger but being 12u puts their development a little further ahead. My son does a bit of lessons so I bring the philosophies and techniques from those coaches with me.

There are alot of I's in those sentences so perhaps I am too focused on myself at the moment so hoping to get a little positive feedback now or convince me to run J/K. Many more questions will come to me soon so hopefully this will all work out and everyone can have a good year of baseball. Also hoping this doesn't bring any tension between my son and I. Not looking to be the best team in the league but at least want to be respectable and hopefully win a few games.