Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question on teaching sliding

Hello All,

First I'd like to tell you all how helpfull your forum has been. I found it a couple of weeks ago and have been absoribing the information since. I am a Manager of a AA little league team (2nd year) and have a question on sliding.

The basic question is what leg is "slid" on?

The reason I ask is that I plan on teaching the figure 4 slid to my players (8-9 year olds) I should have last year but realize it after the fact. I always thought the proper way to slide was the following, assuming a right handed slider:

Figure 4 is created by left leg tucking under the right ankle strong under right leg knee. The right leg is Kept "loose" and is used as a "fulcrom" at the base (later for popup plant). The "fall" is to the buttock side left (tucked leg side thigh on ground) with further support on left leg lower leg. Thus the right handed runner would be "leaning" to the infield straight leg on the outfield side.

But some videos that I'm seeing has the runner strong on the right leg buttock lower thigh. This doesn't make sense to me. Am I missing something?

Originally posted by Whiney Wright View Post
    The basic question is what leg is "slid" on?

The reason I ask is that I plan on teaching the figure 4 slid to my players (8-9 year olds) I should have last year but realize it after the fact. I always thought the proper way to slide was the following, assuming a right handed slider:

Figure 4 is created by left leg tucking under the right ankle strong under right leg knee. The right leg is Kept "loose" and is used as a "fulcrom" at the base (later for popup plant). The "fall" is to the buttock side left (tucked leg side thigh on ground) with further support on left leg lower leg. Thus the right handed runner would be "leaning" to the infield straight leg on the outfield side.