There is a runner on first who retreats to first base in a diving attempt on a pick-off throw. He makes it back to the bag safely but there is an errant throw by the pitcher down the right field line. In the attempt to retrieve the ball the first baseman knees the runner in the head making him unable to get up and take second base which he could have done easily if not injured. What is the ruling pertaining to the runner getting 2nd base? In the game I'm talking about where this happened the runner did not get 2nd base. It seems to me that every 1st baseman now has the right to disable the base runner whether it's intentional or not by this Umps ruling. This surely can't be a judgement call! What is the proper call?

scootheowl