getting noticed by colleges

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• getting noticed by colleges

hey, im a sophomore and having a great season for my varsity team. im batting .667 with 19 steals in 10 games The thing is im 5'11 140, so i hit for no power. I feel that i wont ever get noticed by scouts or colleges unless i start hitting for power, and that i cant ever get all county or all state without power numbers. How should i go about getting into a nice college program, im only a sophomore but still im quite interested in playing college ball.

Go to hsbaseballweb.com and start reading. If you can't find the answers to something PM TRHit or PGStaff. Do not PM them unless you can't find the answers. Ask as many questions as you want in the forums. If you're a solid high school player you can play D3 somewhere.

As you look towards the possibility of playing college baseball, make sure you use baseball for college. Baseball might get you into a better college than without it. Don't let baseball use you at the expense of your education (you will understand this statement better when you get to college if you play). If you ever become good enough to be drafted, even then the odds are 99% you will use your education to earn an income and 1% you will use baseball. The 1% came from the D'backs GM on how many minor leaguers stick in the majors for a career.

Back to the D3 thing, I watched Trinity (CT) play Tufts (MA) this weekend. These are top academic schools. Trinity is undefeated and ranked very high in D3. These teams would get pummeled by a major D1. But the quality of play was solid. In fact, on Friday with both teams aces going I thought it was equal to low level D1's.

You can get drafted from D3. Trinity has at least two pro prospects. Tufts has one.

Comment

Originally posted by baseball2234 View Post