is it good to play up?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• is it good to play up?

For those of you that don't know, I am currently a freshman. I have been asked to play on a legion team for Varsity players. I want to play varsity asap. Is it better to play with my age or to play up?

Originally posted by Go Cardinals View Post
    For those of you that don't know, I am currently a freshman. I have been asked to play on a legion team for Varsity players. I want to play varsity asap. Is it better to play with my age or to play up?
    At your age, I would go for maximum playing time.
    Hitting Coordinator for Harris-Stowe State University in St. Louis.

I also work with the pitchers who are dealing with injury problems.

Comment

Always play with the highest possible competition you can. It will only make you a better player. Don't expect to rip it up, you have to remember the opposition will be bigger,older, and more experienced so don't get down on yourself if you don't do as well as you'd like. Again, it will undoubtedly help in the long run. Good luck.
      People ask me what I do in winter when there's no baseball. I'll tell you what I do. I stare out the window and wait for spring. ~Rogers Hornsby

Comment

Play up ... if you will PLAY. It does you no good to play at a higher level if you won't play but you will probably have some trouble at a higher level at least in the beginning because its harder but work alot and it will pay off.
        “If there was ever a man born to be a hitter it was me.” - Ted Williams
        "Didn't come up here to read. Came up here to hit." - Hank Aaron

Comment

I would say yes. The extra experience you get can only help. During little league I always had to play up with kids older than me. One year I was 9 playing in the 10-12 age league. I think this greatly helped my development as it taught me how to survive against kids who were far older and superior to me.

Comment