pitching help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• pitching help

ive been finding pitching an interesting topic for about 2 years and ive been pitching for about 1.5 years ( not in a league with friends tho) i've learned good mechanics from my sisters boyfriend but he has no time to help me anymore (work and school) im 13 and i want to pitch for my high school freshman team next year and here is what i throw

4-seam - ill throw this pitch from about 65-70 mph
    2-seam - little to no movement a lil slower then my 4-seam
    changeup- will throw 55 average or about 60 tops
    circlechange - nice movement on this guy
    sinker - this is a very sucessful pitch for me helps me in double play situations
    splitter - one of my best pitches, won't throw often because of the stress it causes on your arm
    curveball - pretty much your average 1-7 curveball good pitch but nothing not my best
    slider - its nasty
    slurve - my best pitch (excluding the 4-seam) this is a pitch i've been intrested since before ive been pitching and i use it about 1/5 to 1/4of the time for strikeouts

some questions i have though
    1. I need better control with my pitches, i wanna paint corners instead of throwing alot of breaking balls.
    2. I'm one of those really good on somedays and really bad on others type player what can i do to get consistancy
    3.Whats a good way to keep your breaking balls from hanging
    4.Whats a good way to conserve energy to stay later in the game
    5.How do you stay calm in pressure situations?
    6.How do you keep the batter guessing
    7.Whats the best pitch i should throw for strikeouts ( i need an opinion from some experts)

help is greatly appriciated
    from the pitcher in training
    "It helps if the hitter thinks you're a little crazy." Nolan Ryan

1. Stop spending your time learning as many pitches as you can. I doubt any one of your pitches are truly "nasty" because you have to mix in practice with about 10 others.