One of my students

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• One of my students

I've been working with this kid for about 4 months..Steve took a look at him and has helped out as well.

He is 6.
    Attached Files

Looks GREAT for a 6 year old! Could his front foot be a little more closed in the third still?

Keith

Comment

take note of the ball position. This arc is necessary as this little guy cannot react to a flat fast pitch well. His axis will tilt back to get a sense of getting on plane. They become back foot spinners at a young age as it is hard to transfer momentum upward.

The swing MUST be a work in progress. Many kids never advance beyond this as they must learn weight transfer as they go.

Also , It would serve little purpose with that arc to have the bat splitting the helmet.

Nice images....might give some more insight about how kids swings evolve and why they must change with the angle of the pitch over time. Hand set, bat position , and weight transfer must morph toward the MLB player as soon as possible in development

Comment

Originally posted by bigdaddy
        Looks GREAT for a 6 year old! Could his front foot be a little more closed in the third still?

Keith
        whell it depends if thats his foot at impact or after, at impact then yea it could, but its ok to turn it a little after his foot hits the ground,but the kid is 6 and thats just amazing.If he keeps it up,hes going places.

Comment

Nice pants.

His swing looks pretty good from what we can see of it. Add to that his Russell pants and he won't even need a $200 hi-tech bat to be a goot hitter.

Comment

Full treatment

Just like everyone else, this 6 yr old gets the full treatment.
            Mak.JPG

Picture
            1) good posture !
            2) do I see a little slotting (or is he adjusting to an inside pitch?)
            3) I really like his back foot, his top hand is palm up, shoulder angle (low toss?) and body alignment, he seems to be in balance