No announcement yet.

Scorekeeper question - illegal bat, automatic out

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Scorekeeper question - illegal bat, automatic out

    So, new Little League rule states that if a player steps in the batters box with an illegal bat or gets a hit with an illegal bat and it is noticed before the next batter receives a pitch, that that batter is automatically out and any hit from said batter does not count (any runners advance or runs scored go back to original place).

    It appears that it is the same rule as if a batter bats out of turn and is identified before the next batter.

    If this happens, how is that scored? What do you put in the score book?

  • #2
    Similar to batting out of turn, I believe you just credit the catcher with a putout (2U) - I would note the reason for the decision somewhere in the scorebook.


    Ad Widget