Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Initial Impressions of 10U Travel baseball ...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Initial Impressions of 10U Travel baseball ...

History: Son played 10U as a 9yo last year, but this is the 1st year as head coach, coming from HS and JH levels. Last year we played travel, rec league, and district all-stars (<- really fun, head coach). We got into travel because our all-star team basically asked "why can't we play games/tourneys like this all the time?".

----------------------------

We'll ignore the 50-degree temps and 25+mph winds blowing in from LF, that's just Northern Illinois baseball in April. Snot on your upper lip is as much of the uniform as eye black. In college, we'd be in short sleeves just to show how tough we were (then "snuggle", yes I said snuggle, in the dugout to get as warm as possible). As a coach, I find the cold wind to be , well, as we say "wind blows".

Played 4 games in a pretty fun tournament.

1. The leadoffs have got to go away. Seriously, it's stupid. I know I hear parents and coaches talk about "real baseball", and I say "BS". If real baseball means the "big slow kid" can steal at will, then yeah it's real baseball. Before you get your panties in the bunch, let me state that I am the proud parent of a big slow kid. He's essentially Carlos Zambrano in a 10yo body, which is great for pitching, hitting and catching, but a base stealer he is not. Well, at least until travel ball. 5 SB's in 2 days. If he attempts a stolen base in JH, I'll break one of his ankles so it doesn't happen again. Seriously, it's playing a brand of baseball that does not exist outside of 10U travel baseball. It'd be no different than playing 10U travel basketball on a 6-foot bucket.