3/4 Arm Slot

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3/4 Arm Slot

My son (just turned 12) was just told by a baseball camp instructor that he needs to stop throwing "over the top" and instead should throw from a 3/4 slot to prevent future injury. I will send video once I get it from the camp (pitching analysis vid), but from what I can see is that he might have a high 3/4, but it's not over the top. My question is does it matter? Is 3/4 less prone to injury than another type of arm slot?

Thanks!

All I can say is, post that video. I believe "arm slot" has little to do with injury.

Comment

I'm not an expert. My understanding is that over-the-top pitchers have more stress placed on the shoulder. Guys who throw three-quarters have more stress placed on the elbow. The shoulder is a major body part. It's like the hip of the upper torso. Whereas, the elbow is more like the knee. Obviously, it would be great if pitchers didn't have any serious injuries to their throwing arms. But it happens. A lot. So I think the person is trying to suggest that your son change his delivery to eliminate, or greatly reduce, the chance of him suffering a serious shoulder injury. But, ultimately, it's up to you. Nobody should force something if a kid is having success with what he's doing.

Comment

phillyinnj,

“My son (just turned 12)”
        More importantly is your son’s biological age. This assessment will guide you in making training and competitive use decisions that are yours alone, not any coaches.

“just told by a baseball camp instructor that"
        Knowing the instructors credentials or the credentials of the person that gave him this false information would give you a better understanding of the “yardmyth” that is constantly passed around the baseball world.