Travel Team Practice Suggestions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Travel Team Practice Suggestions

I've been a head coach for seven seasons (counting Spring and Fall as separate seasons) and an assistant for two seasons for my son's rec teams. As he enters this season of kid pitch, he's going to be playing 9U rec league. He's also going to play for a 9U travel team this Fall where I will also be an assistant coach.

We've had about four practices with this team, and was wondering what you guys would suggest for a practice routine. How long and how many times per week is good for this age (9U)? And how do you break down your practice?

The main reason I'm asking is that in the past few seasons as a rec coach, I feel we've run pretty effective practices, so I feel that I have somewhat of an understanding of how a well-run practice should go. I don't want to step on any toes on this Fall Travel team - I've never coached with this group. I don't want to be the new guy who comes in and starts making suggestions.
    For instance, they had a 3.5 hour practice the other night. Another night during the same week, 2.5 hours. If there was a lot of instruction going on, the time MIGHT be worth it. But there seems to be a lot of down time.
    My opinion is two hours - MAX, twice/week should be good enough. There weren't any real drills being worked on. Nine players in the field, a coach was hitting a ball, and they had to make a play. That's not bad in itself, but to keep doing it for over an hour? And of course there was BP where one player hits while the other kids are in positions on the field trying to make the play on the ball. One hour for this alone...

Thanks for letting me vent a little. I'm all ears on how you guys run (or have run) your travel team practices for 9U.