Development Rate of New Players

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Development Rate of New Players

As a coach, I faced an uphill battle two years ago when I had a 7-year-old and 8-year-old who were new to baseball. Both kids were uncoordinated and generally didn't seem very athletic. One was a big guy with an ugly swing but a lot of power. The other was a skinny kid with knock knees. Both kids played for me for two seasons and improved. But their improvement was gradual. After those two seasons, they both had bad experiences with a poor coach. He yelled a lot at kids when they made mistakes but rarely yelled any helpful information about how to correct mistakes. Both kids were casters who swung only with their arms. They did not turn their hips unless I reminded them. With new coaches, they fell into their old ways of swinging and struggled. They struck out a fair number of times.They also had to deal with the fear of moving to kid pitch. They were frightened of being hit by a pitch.

So both of those kids were ready to quit when I managed to latch onto them again. In the spring, I drafted one and rekindled his love for the game. He still struggled with hitting, but I managed to get him into a groove by the summer. This fall, he was drafted by another team, and he's been their best hitter. I'm really proud of him and really excited to see him break out after two years and four seasons, including three playing for me.