Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

The bunt and slash

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • omg
    replied
    Originally posted by ralanprod View Post
    I know that's it's banned through 14U in our travel league. The couple of rec programs that I know of that run 16U programs don't allow it. From what I can tell, it isn't allowed until HS.
    Thanks, I can see that. Now, getting back to hs and above, what situations would cause a coach to call the bunt/slash as opposed to letting the batter hit, calling a bunt, or a hit and run?

    Leave a comment:


  • omg
    replied
    Originally posted by skipper5 View Post
    Intentionally drilled batters are also rare, in my corner of the world.
    Internet baseball resembles Ty Cobb baseball.
    Yes. It does seem like we got a whole lot of drilling, getting it in the back, and bean balling going on here.

    Leave a comment:


  • raptor
    replied
    One youth ball sanctioning body plays by NFHS rules. I've never seen one slash below high school, except for once against us, and it was clearly not intentional; He squared and then his face (and 3B coach immediate look of disgust) said he recognized the sign wrong, and he pulled it back right away, and still swung anyway and fouled off the pitch. Their coaches were swiftly apologetic, and we acknowledged we knew he didn't mean to slash, but their kid was ejected. I don't know any youth coach who would teach a slash, even if they played a tournament which would allow it. Neither kids nor adults want to be involved in any part of that play. It's a non issue.

    Leave a comment:


  • ralanprod
    replied
    Originally posted by omg View Post
    That's interesting. Do you know what ages or levels it would start to be allowed, if any?
    I know that's it's banned through 14U in our travel league. The couple of rec programs that I know of that run 16U programs don't allow it. From what I can tell, it isn't allowed until HS.

    Leave a comment:


  • DerekD
    replied
    Originally posted by tg643 View Post
    Speaking of retaliation my son took one in the back for breaking up a no-hitter with a bunt in the 7th (last inning). He violated one of the unwritten rules of baseball. However, through his eyes he was leading of the last inning, losing 1-0 looking for a way to get on. He was bunted to second, stoled third and scored when the throw went into left. He got drilled two innings later. This is one where I agree with my son. But I understood the coach's approach.
    This sounds like the Ben Davis bunt that broke up Schilling's no-no. I disagreed with it too that it broke any rules. The batters in both situations were the tying runs. You have to get on no matter what it takes. They had to know your son had the speed to reach on a bunt. They should've played the corners in at the very least.

    Now, if the games was 4-0 or something like that where you need more than just that baserunner, it's legit to come after him.

    Leave a comment:


  • Baseball gLove
    replied
    Originally posted by tg643 View Post
    Speaking of retaliation my son took one in the back for breaking up a no-hitter with a bunt in the 7th (last inning). He violated one of the unwritten rules of baseball. However, through his eyes he was leading of the last inning, losing 1-0 looking for a way to get on. He was bunted to second, stoled third and scored when the throw went into left. He got drilled two innings later. This is one where I agree with my son. But I understood the coach's approach.
    In a 1-0 game...Anything goes. Little risky putting a batter on in a 1-0 game unless there are 2 outs.

    Leave a comment:


  • omg
    replied
    Originally posted by tg643 View Post
    Speaking of retaliation my son took one in the back for breaking up a no-hitter with a bunt in the 7th (last inning). He violated one of the unwritten rules of baseball. However, through his eyes he was leading of the last inning, losing 1-0 looking for a way to get on. He was bunted to second, stoled third and scored when the throw went into left. He got drilled two innings later. This is one where I agree with my son. But I understood the coach's approach.
    duplicate post

    Leave a comment:


  • omg
    replied
    Originally posted by tg643 View Post
    Speaking of retaliation my son took one in the back for breaking up a no-hitter with a bunt in the 7th (last inning). He violated one of the unwritten rules of baseball. However, through his eyes he was leading of the last inning, losing 1-0 looking for a way to get on. He was bunted to second, stoled third and scored when the throw went into left. He got drilled two innings later. This is one where I agree with my son. But I understood the coach's approach.
    Dumb move by the opposing coach if it's intentional. You can break up a no-hitter with a bunt in the last inning if the score is 1-0. It's just ridiculous- mis-application of an unwritten rule here. A little knowledge is dangerous sometimes.

    Leave a comment:


  • tg643
    replied
    They lost 2-1 in nine innings. But he scored the tying run in the 7th. In the 9th drilling him put the go ahead run on base. He stoled second and was stranded. His bunt was the only hit the entire game. That one pitcher was a stud. He's pitching in the Big East now.

    They beat this team in the semis of elimination play. Our team had deeper pitching. But there was an entertaining event. The number nine hitter crushed a homer into the left field screen. When my son (5'4" in 14U) came up that coach yelled, "Move in. He's a runt. He's a bunter." My son gapped one that rolled to the 394 mark in right-center. He jogged it from third to home.

    Leave a comment:


  • NoonTime
    replied
    Buh Bye BBF!
    Last edited by NoonTime; 11-07-2013, 07:24 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • tg643
    replied
    Speaking of retaliation my son took one in the back for breaking up a no-hitter with a bunt in the 7th (last inning). He violated one of the unwritten rules of baseball. However, through his eyes he was leading of the last inning, losing 1-0 looking for a way to get on. He was bunted to second, stoled third and scored when the throw went into left. He got drilled two innings later. This is one where I agree with my son. But I understood the coach's approach.

    Leave a comment:


  • omg
    replied
    Originally posted by ralanprod View Post
    The slash or "butcher boy" is banned in most rec leagues in our area, and in the local travel league as well. Typically it's an auto eject for the player and the 3rd base coach.
    That's interesting. Do you know what ages or levels it would start to be allowed, if any?

    Leave a comment:


  • ralanprod
    replied
    The slash or "butcher boy" is banned in most rec leagues in our area, and in the local travel league as well. Typically it's an auto eject for the player and the 3rd base coach.

    Leave a comment:


  • dominik
    replied
    Originally posted by tg643 View Post
    MLB is a different skill set. But if an infielder got injured on the play you know the best hitter would get one in the ribs his next at bat.
    Yes. In the bigs of course the slash is a legit play but in kiddie ball this is just dangerous because the kids don't have the right reactions to deal with that.

    In MLB you have to do this occasionally to keep the fielders honest but I don't think there is a reason to do this anywhere below HS level. LaRussa used that a lot with his pitchers. they would always square up to bunt an occasionally pull back and swing away.
    Last edited by dominik; 10-24-2012, 06:09 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • omg
    replied
    Okay, let me see. (Let's keep the retaliatory bean balls out of it for now). So, the thinking is that the bunt and slash is a dangerous play and therefore should not be used. I guess I should have said hs and above initially.

    Yes, I can see this. It never really occurred to me that it is very dangerous. I don't want to see anybody get hurt.

    But the batter a) is not necessarily taking a full swing and b) the fielders should really only be charging in probably to the point where they aren't any closer than what the pitcher would be. Of course, that's not saying a guy won't charge in willy nilly to a full swing line drive in the mouth.

    I'll have to think about this. Is the bunt and slash really more dangerous than the suicide squeeze where the runner on third is sprinting home and that self-actualized batter, even after an acknowledgement, is never going to go brain dead and take a full swing? Should we not be squeezing either? I mean, if the defense knows the slash is a possibility maybe they won't always charge in willy-nilly in an obvious bunt situation. Maybe they will just charge to 70 feet and not 40 feet.
    Should we stop having double plays just because a runner running into second might get one in the mouth from 3 feet because the runner failed to slide?

    A little help on figuring this stuff out, please.

    Leave a comment:

Ad Widget

Collapse
Working...
X