2014 - 920,181,105
    2013 - 779,814,496
    2012 - 660,882,624
    2011 - 560,070,020
    2010 - 474,635,610
    2009 - 402,233,568
    2008 - 340,875,905
    2007 - 288,877,886
    2006 - 244,811,768 (actual: 194,663,079)
    2005 - 207,467,600 (actual: 208,306,817)
    2004 - 175,820,000 (actual: 184,193,950)
    2003 - 149,000,000 (actual: 152,749,814)
    2002 - 125,928,583
    2001 - 109,791,893
    2000 - 92,583,260
    1999 - 91,990,955
    1998 - 73,963,698
    1997 - 73,389,577
    1996 - 61,511,870
    1995 - 58,165,252

Note: Added actual salaries for seasons since predictions were made.
    Last edited by Hammerin Hank; 02-08-2007, 02:31 PM.
    2016 World Series Champions

They'll reach $1 billion when the rest of MLB goes bankrupt or inflation is so rampant in the U.S. that economic is completely destabilized.

I'm no ecomonics professor, but I'm sure we have some here at Baseball Fever. Perhaps, they could explain why this scenario is not very likely, or why I am dead wrong?

Comment

My figures are only if the Yankees payroll continued to increase at the rate it has been this last decade, which is very unlikely.

Comment

Even the Yankees have an operating cost .
        http://gifrific.com/wp-content/uploa...-showalter.gif

Comment

Originally posted by CubbieFan7
          My figures are only if the Yankees payroll continued to increase at the rate it has been this last decade, which is very unlikely.
          Given that the Yankees 1993 Opening Day payroll was $40,405,000 and their 2003 Opening Day payroll was $149,710,995, the rate their payroll increased "this last decade" was a little under 271%.

I don't know what data you're using, or what kind of math you've applied to it, but that would project a 2013 payroll of $554,718,031 (rounded to the nearest dollar.)

The data above is provided courtesy of the SABR Business of Baseball Committee, chaired by Doug Pappas.