Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bob Davidson strikes again

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Bob Davidson strikes again

    Japan should have been leading 4-3 in the eighth yesterday, but Umpire Bob Davidson reversed the appeal ruling of the other umpire who called safe on the appeal of Tsuyoshi Nishioka leaving early. The replay clearly showed he didn't take off until the ball was caught, and it sure appears that team USA is getting preferential treatment in the WBC. Did anyone else think the Japanese team got royally screwed by that lousy call? Do you think the bracket selection was designed so that the US wouldn't have to play Cuba, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, or the Dominican republic until the finals? (assuming the script will make sure they reach that far). I always thought only the umpire making the initial call could reverse his decision, but evidently Davidson claimed it was his call to make in the first place. Jeff Passan of Yahoo! Sports had a very to the point piece this a.m., but I can't seem to get the link to work.h

    http://sports.yahoo.com/mlb/news;_yl...=yhoo&type=lgr
    Baseball is a ballet without music. Drama without words ~Ernie Harwell

  • #2
    this link works just fine, trosmok.

    balkin' bob has long been thought of as type of maverick ump.
    eager to read bluesteve's take on the situation.
    "you don't have to burn books to destroy a culture. just get people to stop reading them." -ray bradbury

    Comment

    Ad Widget

    Collapse
    Working...
    X