No announcement yet.

3 Finalists announced for the 2020 J.G. Taylor Spink Award

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 3 Finalists announced for the 2020 J.G. Taylor Spink Award

    Spink Award Winner to be announced at the Winter Meetings (December 8-12).

    3 final Candidates.

    1. Patrick Reusse (active Minnesota Twins beat writer)
    2. Jim Reeves (retired Texas Rangers beat writer)
    3. Nick Cafardo (1956-2019). (Boston Red Sox Baseball and New England Patriots Football sportswriter). Cafardo passed away in February 2019.

  • #2
    Cafardo is the best of an underwhelming group here.
    "It is a simple matter to erect a Hall of Fame, but difficult to select the tenants." -- Ken Smith
    "I am led to suspect that some of the electorate is very dumb." -- Henry P. Edwards
    "You have a Hall of Fame to put people in, not keep people out." -- Brian Kenny
    "There's no such thing as a perfect ballot." -- Jay Jaffe


    • #3
      Calfardo died, so he will win the gold watch award here.


      • #4
        Cafardo is the only one I'm more than vaguely familiar with.

        I'm sure these guys are worthy, but in recent years it's seemed like the pickings were getting a little slim..

        Most of the best contemporary baseball writing is saber-heavy; if the HOF doesn't start considering people in that milieu, they're going to be down to some chucklehead churning out Bleacher Report listicles before too long.


        Ad Widget