No announcement yet.

if only one cy young award in 1968?

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • if only one cy young award in 1968?

    in another thread lougehrig asked “who would have won the OTHER cy young award?”, referring to the solo award from the year 1956 thru 1966.

    my question is this:
    who would have won the cy young hardware in 1968 had just one award been handed out?

    in 1968, bob gibson (nl) and denny mclain (al) were the recipients.
    "you don't have to burn books to destroy a culture. just get people to stop reading them." -ray bradbury

  • #2
    I don't know who would have won, but Gibson [i]should[i] have been recognized as the game's best pitcher for the year 1968.
    Johnson and now Goligoski gone.
    I hope that's all.


    • #3
      ---McLain would have won. Gibson may have been the better pitcher that year, but 30 wins wasn't going to be overlooked.


      • #4

        Gibson, no if's and, or buts about it

        1.12 ERA, 258 ERA+ easily trounces 31 wins 154 ERA+ any day, I'd rather have Gibson on my team.

        Besides, he never had to come out of a game except for pinch-hitters
        “There can be no higher law in journalism than to tell the truth and to shame the devil.” Walter Lippmann

        "Fill in any figure you want for that boy (Mantle). Whatever the figure, it's a deal." - Branch Rickey


        Ad Widget