Overrated/Underrated Managers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overrated/Underrated Managers

I'm not an expert in how to rank managers, but who do you guys think are some of the under/over rated in that occupation?
    “There can be no higher law in journalism than to tell the truth and to shame the devil.” Walter Lippmann

"Fill in any figure you want for that boy (Mantle). Whatever the figure, it's a deal." - Branch Rickey

Overrated: Connie Mack, John McGraw, Casey Stengel, and Joe Torre.

Underrated: Joe McCarthy, Walter Alston, Sparky Anderson, Billy Southworth, and Al Lopez.

Yankees Fan Since 1957

Comment

I think all managers are overrated, but #1 on the list is Joe Torre - and I'm a Yankee fan.

I think Dusty Baker is very overrated too.
      My top 10 players:

1. Babe Ruth
      2. Barry Bonds
      3. Ty Cobb
      4. Ted Williams
      5. Willie Mays
      6. Alex Rodriguez
      7. Hank Aaron
      8. Honus Wagner
      9. Lou Gehrig
      10. Mickey Mantle

Comment

On mlbs prime 9 show, Connie Mack didn't even make the list of best managers...I believe John McGraw was #1

Comment

If you go back & check contemporary sources, TSN, the leading daily papers, the various sports journals, you'll see that the Stengel-era Yankees were usually not picked to win the pennant. Cleveland, with their great pitching! Red Sox, with their great hitting! White Sox, with their great fielding! Those were the teams expert contemporary observers thought would contend. It was Casey brought the Bombers home in first place time after time. Easily the most under reated manager ever.

Comment

how good was he with the Dodgers?

the Braves?

the Mets?

in those 13 non Yankee years he never finished in the first division and finished 5th (of 8) just twice, he finished 6th just twice and 5 times was the second worst team in the league, anticpating the Mets when he was dead last all 4 seasons and had some of the worst won loss records in history