Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

The 10 biggest errors in baseball history

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #46
    Originally posted by Buzzaldrin View Post
    Zimmerman wasn't (according to several sources, but specifically here Arthur Daley) the actual goat.

    Just found it digging through the library- quote from Daley:

    "The Giants trapped (Eddie) Collins between third and home. He jockeyed back and forth on the baselines to give the other runners a chance to advance. Catcher Bill rariden of the Giants, the actual goat in this most peculiar drama, wandered away from the plate, leaving it uncovered. Since Collins' mind worked with the rapidity of his twinkling feet, he set out for home at full speed, the lumbering Zimmerman pursuing him vainly but valiantly, the ball clutched in one large paw.

    Zimmerman justifiably became quite irked by the critical barbs which immediately began to bounce off his innocent noggin. In one beautifully compact sentence he summed up the situation precisely. Said he:

    "Who the hell was I gonna throw the ball to- the umpire?""
    Yeah, I'm familiar with the revisionist version, maybe Daley's own. Well, I wasn't there, and it was not an error after all, so in its stead I'll nominate Zim's throwing error that put Collins on in the first place.
    Indeed the first step toward finding out is to acknowledge you do not satisfactorily know already; so that no blight can so surely arrest all intellectual growth as the blight of cocksureness.--CS Peirce

    Comment


    • #47
      Originally posted by Jackaroo Dave View Post
      Peckinpaugh made 8 errors altogether, inclluding 2 in the late innings of game 7 that led to Pirates' unearned runs and come-from -behind win.
      In Peckinpaugh's defense though, wasn't Game 7 played in the rain? I'd imagine that didn't make fielding conditions especially favorable.
      Baseball Junk Drawer

      Comment


      • #48
        Originally posted by westsidegrounds View Post
        if they're going to include Mickey Owen's PB (not officially an "error") then they should have made room for Chesbro's WP in the 9th inning of the 1904 season finale, which cost his team the pennant.
        Mickey Owen's mis-play in the 1941 Series was officially scored as an error.

        Comment


        • #49
          Originally posted by Orioles5 View Post
          Marquis Grissom dropping a fly ball in Game 5 of the 1996 World Series was very costly for the Braves.
          Not specifically. The Braves had 6 innings to get one run after that, they couldn't do it. The wasted opportunity in the sixth inning on offense was much more costly.
          46 wins to match last year's total

          Comment


          • #50
            Originally posted by EdTarbusz View Post
            Mickey Owen's mis-play in the 1941 Series was officially scored as an error.
            How is that possible?

            "The official scorer of Game Four absolved Hugh Casey of any blame for the dropped third strike by declaring it a passed ball ..." Billheimer: Baseball and the Blame Game (McFarland, 2007) p. 123

            "The official scorer shall charge a catcher with a passed ball when the catcher fails to hold or to control a legally pitched ball that should have been held or controlled with ordinary effort, thereby permitting a runner or runners to advance. When the third strike is a passed ball, permitting the runner to reach first base, the official scorer shall score it a strikeout and a passed ball." Official Rules of Baseball 10.13(b)

            "The official scorer shall not charge an error when a batter is awarded first base on four called balls, when the batter is awarded first base when touched by a pitched ball, or when the batter reaches first base as the result of a wild pitch or passed ball." Official Rules 10.12(e)
            Last edited by westsidegrounds; 09-18-2012, 07:57 AM.

            Comment


            • #51
              Originally posted by westsidegrounds View Post
              How is that possible?

              "The official scorer of Game Four absolved Hugh Casey of any blame for the dropped third strike by declaring it a passed ball ..." Billheimer: Baseball and the Blame Game (McFarland, 2007) p. 123

              "The official scorer shall charge a catcher with a passed ball when the catcher fails to hold or to control a legally pitched ball that should have been held or controlled with ordinary effort, thereby permitting a runner or runners to advance. When the third strike is a passed ball, permitting the runner to reach first base, the official scorer shall score it a strikeout and a passed ball." Official Rules of Baseball 10.13(b)

              "The official scorer shall not charge an error when a batter is awarded first base on four called balls, when the batter is awarded first base when touched by a pitched ball, or when the batter reaches first base as the result of a wild pitch or passed ball." Official Rules 10.12(e)
              The baseball-reference box score says it was an error. I'm pretty sure there was a rule change at one point. It wouldn't be an error if it happened today, but apparently it was in 1941.

              Comment


              • #52
                Originally posted by westsidegrounds View Post
                How is that possible?

                "The official scorer of Game Four absolved Hugh Casey of any blame for the dropped third strike by declaring it a passed ball ..." Billheimer: Baseball and the Blame Game (McFarland, 2007) p. 123

                "The official scorer shall charge a catcher with a passed ball when the catcher fails to hold or to control a legally pitched ball that should have been held or controlled with ordinary effort, thereby permitting a runner or runners to advance. When the third strike is a passed ball, permitting the runner to reach first base, the official scorer shall score it a strikeout and a passed ball." Official Rules of Baseball 10.13(b)

                "The official scorer shall not charge an error when a batter is awarded first base on four called balls, when the batter is awarded first base when touched by a pitched ball, or when the batter reaches first base as the result of a wild pitch or passed ball." Official Rules 10.12(e)
                It was probably the rules of the day. Several times during the radio broadcast Bob Elson states that when a runner reaches first on a strikeout it is scored as an error on the catcher. Bilheimer should have looked a little more closely at this game.

                Comment


                • #53
                  Originally posted by ipitch View Post
                  The baseball-reference box score says it was an error. I'm pretty sure there was a rule change at one point. It wouldn't be an error if it happened today, but apparently it was in 1941.
                  Originally posted by EdTarbusz View Post
                  It was probably the rules of the day. Several times during the radio broadcast Bob Elson states that when a runner reaches first on a strikeout it is scored as an error on the catcher. Bilheimer should have looked a little more closely at this game.
                  Interesting. I had a look at Paul Dickson's The Joy of Keeping Score, and there's no mention of such a rules change in the "Year-by-Year Timeline of Scoring Rule Changes" section, which seems to be pretty thorough.

                  Anybody have a 1941 rulebook lying around?

                  EDIT - looking up Owen's fielding stats at BB-ref, it shows PBs and Catcher Errors as separate categories (e.g. 1938, 11 C errors (#2 in NL), and 7 PB (#3) -- ???
                  Last edited by westsidegrounds; 09-18-2012, 11:44 AM.

                  Comment


                  • #54
                    Originally posted by westsidegrounds View Post
                    Interesting. I had a look at Paul Dickson's The Joy of Keeping Score, and there's no mention of such a rules change in the "Year-by-Year Timeline of Scoring Rule Changes" section, which seems to be pretty thorough.

                    Anybody have a 1941 rulebook lying around?

                    EDIT - looking up Owen's fielding stats at BB-ref, it shows PBs and Catcher Errors as separate categories (e.g. 1938, 11 C errors (#2 in NL), and 7 PB (#3) -- ???
                    Well, back then there were passed balls and errors, but some were scored differently than they are today. I don't know when the rule was changed, but it had to be changed at some point, unless the B-R box score for 1941 WS Game 4 is incorrect. The Retrosheet box score also says it was an error.

                    Comment


                    • #55
                      Not errors since no contact was made with the ball, but I always think about Flood stumbling in CF in 1968 vs. the Tigers and then karma striking when when Granderson fell in CF during the Cardinals Game 4 comeback in 2006. Neither errors, but both defensive plays that cost big-time.
                      1885 1886 1926 1931 1934 1942 1944 1946 1964 1967 1982 2006 2011

                      1887 1888 1928 1930 1943 1968 1985 1987 2004 2013

                      1996 2000 2001 2002 2005 2009 2012 2014 2015


                      The Top 100 Pitchers In MLB History
                      The Top 100 Position Players In MLB History

                      Comment

                      Ad Widget

                      Collapse
                      Working...
                      X