Strength Runs: strERA and SOS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strength Runs: strERA and SOS

For a while, I've been toying with two new metrics. They are very simple in premise, but difficult to compute because you have to go through so many box scores. I heartily accept criticism, constructive or not, and I believe I am prepared to defend against most arguments. I am still learning to ropes to creating new statistics, but I think this one is at the very least worth glancing at.

Before I begin, I'm going to say that I've made up a lot of data for the sake of ease. I don't have the patience to sift through a hundred box scores for a statistic that may be blasted to pieces by the end of this thread. I will tell you where I've fabricated data. Plus, hypothetical numbers never hurt in the explanation of a metric. Wish me luck:

In 2006, Brewers' Ben Sheets pitched on April 21st against the Reds. Milwaukee won due to his endeavors. The Reds scored only two runs (both earned) against Sheets in seven innings. What I will use is something I call "strength runs" to determine how strong this start was, because everyone knows 2 ER allowed against a strong team isn't equal to 2 allowed against a weak team.

First, we need to see how strong the Reds' offense was that season up to the date of Sheets' start.

Code:
    Reds	Opponent	IP	ER scored
    Apr 3, 2006	CHC	9	6
    Apr 5, 2006	CHC	8	6
    Apr 6, 2006	PIT	8	6
    Apr 7, 2006	PIT	8	7
    Apr 8, 2006	PIT	8	8
    Apr 9, 2006	PIT	9	3
    Apr 11, 2006	CHC	9	9
    Apr 12, 2006	CHC	9	1
    Apr 13, 2006	CHC	9	7
    Apr 14, 2006	STL	9	1
    Apr 15, 2006	STL	9	3
    Apr 16, 2006	STL	9	6
    Apr 17, 2006	FLA	8	8
    Apr 18, 2006	FLA	9	5
    Apr 19, 2006	FLA	8.333	7
    Apr 20, 2006	MIL	9	10
    Where IP represents the innings played by the Reds offense, and ER means the earned runs they scored against their opponent.