No announcement yet.

Ryan Howard wins NL Hank Aaron Award

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Ryan Howard wins NL Hank Aaron Award

    Ryan Howard hit a Major League-best 58 homers and 149 RBIs this
    year for the Phillies. (Rusty Kennedy/AP)

    Howard garners NL Hank Aaron Award
    Phillies slugger honored as league's best offensive player

    PHILADELPHIA -- Ryan Howard's smooth left-handed power stroke drew favorable comparisons to Willie Stargell this season.

    Howard can now be mentioned in the same sentence with another Hall of Famer, Hank Aaron. The Phillies slugger and New York Yankee Derek Jeter were the respective winners of the 2006 Hank Aaron Award presented by Century 21, given to the best offensive player in each league. They were presented with the hardware before Game 4 of the World Series.

    The winners were presented with the hardware before Game 4 of the World Series.

    "I want to say thank you to Century 21 and to everyone who made the vote, to Hank Aaron," Howard said. "It's been a pleasure this season. It was a blast. Hopefully, [there will be] many more to come."

    Since 1999, the 25th anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home run record, Major League Baseball has recognized the best offensive performer in each league. Past recipients include Barry Bonds (three times), Alex Rodriguez (three times), Manny Ramirez (twice), Albert Pujols, Todd Helton, Sammy Sosa and Carlos Delgado. Last year's winners, selected during balloting during the regular season's final month on, were Boston's David Ortiz and Atlanta's Andruw Jones.

    Each team selected one nominee and those players were then trimmed to six finalists per league. During the final phase of voting, fans cast more than 250,000 votes online. In winning his first Aaron Award, Howard received 25,349 votes.
    Please read Baseball Fever Policy and Forum FAQ before posting. 2007-11 CBA
    Rest very peacefully, John “Buck” O'Neil (1911-2006) & Philip Francis “Scooter” Rizzuto (1917-2007)
    THE BROOKLYN DODGERS - 1890 thru 1957
    Montreal Expos 1969 - 2004

  • #2
    Next, the MVP!


    • #3
      nice, he definitely deserved this one (and i think he almost definitely deserved the mvp, but he deserved this one without a doubt)
      Gelatin Fernandalism


      Ad Widget