Giants Fans' Allegiances After 1957

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Giants Fans' Allegiances After 1957

As an Australian, I am relatively new to American baseball culture. A recent trip to the States has left me obsessed with baseball, and eager to learn more about baseball history.

I am a Mets fan and I am interested in whether the Mets were successful in attracting disillusioned New York Giants and Brooklyn Dodgers fans.

There seem to be a lot of original New York Giants fans on this forum. I am interested in whether most New York Giants fans still followed MLB after 1957. Did many fans transfer their allegiances to the San Francisco ballclub? Did many shun the game altogether? Did many get behind the Mets? With the Mets filling a gap in the NL left by both the New York Giants and the Brooklyn Dodgers, was it easy to get behind the Mets? Especially in light of the fierce rivalry between the New York Giants and the Bums.

Apologies if these questions have already been raised again and again on this forum. I am posting a similar question on the Brooklyn Dodgers forum, and wondering if there will be similar responses to yours.

Thanks!
    Last edited by greenpoint; 11-20-2013, 04:33 AM. Reason: typo

This ties in with my last post on your similar thread on the Brooklyn Dodgers forum, greenpoint.

On July 24, 1961, the Giants came from San Francisco to play an in-season exhibition game against the Yankees at Yankee Stadium. It rained heavily that day and the temperature was still over 90 degrees. Yet 47,346 fans turned out, many of them to see Willie Mays. The Sporting News wrote that Mays "drew what amounted to a continuous ovation whenever he was on the field, and at times it thundered louder than the turbulent storms which had almost washed away the game."

I suspect the loyalty may have been greater to the old players than to the club itself.

Comment